XSym Logo

Fourth International XML Database Symposium
(XSym 2006)

In Conjunction with VLDB 2006
Seoul, Korea
Sunday-Monday, 10-11 September 2006


The program is now online.


Registration for XSym06 is now open.
Please use the VLDB registration system under http://aitrc.kaist.ac.kr:3177/ to register for XSym06.
The fee for the symposium is Korean Won 200,000 (early)/230,000 (late/on-site) and includes the LNCS proceedings and attendance to all sessions and breaks.



The theme of the XML Database Symposium (XSym) is the convergence of database technology with XML technology. To start a series of focused symposiums, this year's symposium concentrates on XML repositories and their applications, i.e. on the issue of building both systems and applications for the management of XML data.


The goal of this symposium is to bring together academics, practitioners, users and vendors to discuss the use and synergy between the above-mentioned technologies. Many commercial systems built today are increasingly using these technologies together and it is important to understand the various research and practical issues. The wide range of participants will help the various communities understand both specific and common problems. This symposium will provide the opportunity for all involved to debate new issues and directions for research and development work in the future.

Symposium Format

The symposium format will be a 20-minute presentation, followed by 10-minutes discussion and debate. We encourage demos or other novel presentation techniques if they are a better format to describe the work being undertaken.

Topics of Interest

In order to foster a lively exchange of perspectives on the conference topics, the program committee encourages contributions from both researchers and practitioners. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

Core Database Technology for XML Data Management

The above topics can be considered in both the case of native and none-native management systems.

Development and Deployment of XML Applications

Paper Submission

Symposium submissions must generally be in electronic form using Portable Document Format (.pdf), PostScript (.ps) or WinWord (.doc). Papers should not be more than 15 pages in length. Papers should be formatted according to the Springer-Verlag Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) guidelines. LNCS formatting guidelines and templates can be found at the Springer-Verlag Information for LNCS Authors web site. Ensure that you use the correct template -- Proceedings and Other Multiauthor Volumes -- available in various formats. All submitted papers will be judged on their quality and relevance. At least one author of each accepted paper must attend the symposium to present their work.

Paper submission site is at https://msrcmt.research.microsoft.com/XSYM2006.

The proceedings will be published in the Springer-Verlag Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) series and will be available at the symposium.

Important Dates

Important Dates
2 June 2006 Paper Submission Deadline
30 June 2006 Notification of Acceptance
10 July 2006 Camera Ready Copy
10-11 September 2006 Symposium

Organizing Committee

General Chair
Zohra Bellahsene, LIRMM (France)

Local Chair
Kyuseok Shim, Seoul National University (Korea)

Program Committee Chairs
Sihem Amer-Yahia, AT&T Research (USA)
Jeffrey Xu Yu, Chinese University of Hong Kong (China)

Communications and Sponsorship
Ela Hunt, University of Zurich (Switzerland)

Rainer Unland, University of Duisburg-Essen (Germany)

Program Committee

Ashraf Aboulnaga, University of Waterloo (Canada)
Bernd Amann, Universiti Paris 6, (France)
Denilson Barbosa, University of Calgary (Canada)
Omar Benjelloun, Stanford University (USA)
Veronique Benzaken, University Paris-Sud (France)
Philip Bernstein, Microsoft Research (USA)
Philip Bohannon, Bell Laboratories - Lucent Technologies (USA)
Jihad Boulos, American University of Beirut (Lebanon)
Stephane Bressan, National University of Singapore (Singapore)
Yi Chen, Arizona State University (USA)
Alex Dekhtayar, University of Kentucky (USA)
Alin Deutsch, University of California at San Diego (USA)
Yanlei Diao, University of Massachusetts at Amherst (USA)
Irini Fundulaki, University of Edinburgh (UK)
Minos Garofalakis, Intel Research (USA)
Giorgio Ghelli, Universita di Pisa (Italy)
Torsten Grust, Technical University of Munich (Germany)
Giovanna Guerrini, Universita di Genova (Italy)
Ihab Ilyas, University of Waterloo (Canada)
Zack Ives, University of Pennsylvania (USA)
Vanja Josifovski, Yahoo Research (USA)
Carl Christian Kanne, University of Mannheim (Germany)
Yaron Kanza, University of Toronto (Canada)
Raghav Kaushik, Microsoft Research (USA)
Laks Lakshmanan, University of British Columbia (Canada)
Dongwon Lee, Pennsylvania State University (USA)
Mong Li Lee, National University of Singapore (Singapore)
Qiong Luo, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (China)
Murali Mani, Worcester Polytechnic Institute (USA)
Amelie Marian, Rutgers University (USA)
Peter McBrien, Imperial College - London (UK)
Tova Milo, Tel Aviv University (Israel)
Atsuyuki Morishima, University of Tsukuba (Japan)
Fatma Ozcan, IBM Almaden Research Center (USA)
Tamer Ozsu, University of Waterloo (Canada)
Tadeusz Pankowski, Poznan University of Technology (Poland)
Alkis Polyzotis, University of California at Santa Cruz (USA)
Philippe Pucheral, INRIA (France)
Prakash Ramanan, Wichita State University (USA)
Michael Rys, Microsoft (USA)
Monica Scannapieco, University of Roma "La Sapienza" (Italy)
Jayavel Shanmugasundaram, Cornell University (USA)
Jerome Simeon, IBM Research (USA)
Divesh Srivastava, AT&T Research (USA)
Martin Theobald, Max-Planck-Institut fur Informatik (Germany)
Vasilis Vassalos, Athens University of Economics and Business (Greece)
Stratis Viglas, University of Edinburgh (UK)
Yuqing Melanie Wu, Indiana University (USA)
Jun Yang, Duke University (USA)

Page Last Updated on 11 August 2006